We follow The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This is designed to cover 7 areas of learning. It consists of 3 prime areas which are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  •  Personal, Social and Emotional Development

These 3 areas are fundamental from birth and build the roots for future learning. There are also 4 specific areas which are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts an Design 

These 4 specific areas strengthen the prime areas and help us to apply these within a Pre-school setting. All these 7 areas are inter-connected and most of our activities in Pre-school cover more  than one area at one time.

Outdoor Learning

Woolden Ferns grounds provide an ideal outdoor learning environment with natural gardens. We endeavour to keep the outdoor area open all year round, whatever the weather, and encourage children to be outside daily. A wide variety of activities are planned for the outdoor area which encourage children to learn across all areas of the curriculum. The main aims are for children to develop their independence, problem-solving skills, self- awareness, good social and communication skills, fine and gross motor skills and to have a positive attitude as well as greater self-esteem and confidence. All children are involved in helping each other to achieve, as well as having fun.

PLEASE REMEMBER: There is no such thing as bad weather, just inappropriate clothing!